Profile Photo

Flying Start Anti-corruption Basic Course

• Public Group
  • 2 months, 2 weeks ago

members

Please share some of the experiences you may have had with corruption

Home Forums Flying Start Anti-corruption Basic Course Please share some of the experiences you may have had with corruption

20 voices
19 replies
  • Author

Please share some of the experiences you may have had with corruption and how you handled such situations?

A policeman requested for our vehicle papers and everything was intact. But insist that there is a paper and delay us. He finally demanded for money to allow us. But there is nothing we can do, since we are on journey, we have to give him to allow us to go

Margaret AwosikaMargaret Awosika
      Participant

I have a lot of experience that I can share, but I’ll focus on one, that happened to my daughter about three years ago.
      She was qualified for prefectship position in her school, she has won several academic and conduct accolades. She want to apply for head girl position, she passed all other stages but when she got to the final stage, the interview stage which comprises the principal, the vice and two head of departments, she was shocked at the questions thrown at her.
      The principal asked her, ‘What financial contribution has she done for the school? and What events has her parent sponsored in the school?’
      All her explanations on charity events and competitions she has won for the school were ignored and eventually she didn’t get any position, while some of her mate got two positions.
      She cried home to me and when I when to the school to complain to the principal, he told me ‘prefectship is not the end of the world, she should focus on her final exam and not on being a prefect.’ I expressed my mind on the situation but nothing was done. I calm my daughter down and told her to just focus on her exam.

Cordelia EboaguCordelia Eboagu
      Participant